Classic Culture Reference of the Day

In so many of the new kids’ cartoons there are classic culture references that the kids (and probably many adults my age) just don’t get, and when I see these I am compelled to ask my kids, “Do you know why that’s funny?” 

Today my son and I are were watching “Courage the Cowardly Dog”.  There was a scene where Courage and a Bigfoot got in a food fight, and at the end of the food fight they both had piles of fruit on their heads and skirts made of bananas and were dancing the samba.  I said something like “Ha ha, Carmen Miranda!”  and Ben said something like “Huh?!” so I made him watch this video because I feel it is my responsibility to teach him everything I can possibly think of.

 

Ben and I were at the bank drive-up ATM today and I was telling him “Now, when you’re at the ATM be sure to keep your car doors locked, and look around to make sure nobody is sneaking up to take your money, etc. etc.” and he said “Yes, I know, that’s the third time you told me!”  I think I’ll make him watch this video a couple more times just so he doesn’t forget who Carmen Miranda is.

 

Watch the video, then try not to sing and dance.  It’s impossible, the samba is irresistible!   La la la la la chica chica boom chic!! Boom ch’boom boom boom ch’boom…

Categories: Cool Stuff, Fun, History, Kids, Life, Observations, People, Trivia | Tags: , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Say things!

Blog at WordPress.com.

