Balloon

These photos were taken 2 weeks ago, I was in bed and heard the WHOOOOSH! of the balloon burner and ran outside to the porch to take a photo since it was flying so low.  As I was waving enthusiastically at the people in the gondola I realized I was still in my nightie and had sleep hair…but the people were turned the other way so I don’t think they saw me (whew!)  This balloon often flies over our house and has had to make a few emergency landings in our neighborhood.  This time it was aiming for a church parking lot but ended up in someone’s yard instead!

DSC00138

DSC00139

Anyway, the other day my dad called and invited my son and me to go for a balloon ride in this very balloon! (It’s on Dad’s “bucket list”, last year he and Ben went on the Slingshot ride at the Fair, and he has been skydiving about once a year for the past 4 years. Dad had to miss skydiving and the rafting trip this year because of problems with his heart, and he was quite disappointed! Now he’s good to go, though!)

After the balloon flight there is a picnic continental breakfast with champagne or sparkling cider. It sounds like so much fun. I would LOVE to go. But, last time I was up high (Ferris wheel) I had a small panic attack and couldn’t stand to look. Since there isn’t room to sit down and hide in the balloon gondola and I don’t want to be a party-pooper, I decided not to go this time. My logical brain wants to go, but my bipolar brain is a total spoilsport.  Smile with tongue out

So, Ben will be going with his grandpa bright and early tomorrow morning – there are multiple start points so they will find out tonight where they start (depends on the weather and wind).  He is super excited.  It’s so great that Grandpa includes Ben in all his adventures.  I’m going to have him text me if they are going over our house so I can go out and wave and get a photo!  It’ll be awesome!

Categories: Cool Stuff, Family, Fun, Keizer, Thursday Things | Tags: , , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Balloon

  1. That is SO AWESOME!!! Going up in a hot air balloon is on my bucket-list, too. How awesome that your dad and your son get to have this adventure, together. It makes me wonder if my height-phobic husband will let me take our wee man up with me, when it’s my turn 🙂 Thanks for sharing this. It seriously made my day!

    • I’m so glad you liked the post! Ben and Grandpa had a wonderful time, and the balloon crew kindly let me go with them in the chase van so I got to have some fun and excitement too, watching the flight the whole way. Maybe your husband would like to do that part when you go, it was a great way to participate without actually having to be way up high – although the balloon pilot assured me that being in the balloon isn’t nearly as scary as being on a Ferris wheel!

Say things!

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

